Skip to content

A trip home and a roof over our heads

Organized by: Michael Evans

Michael's Photo

THE STORY:

A summary about Us:

My girlfriend and I met each other in New Hampshire in late June of 2013. From there we have been together since, and have been navigating life together. Our attempts to find work while in the Northeast were unsuccessful over the course of four months. We obtained a work-stay arrangement in October of that year on a farm, but were forced to relocate after a short time. We found another farm to intern on, where we received limited lodging and a small stipend. Afterwards in December, because of our very limited resources and the oncoming harsh New England winter, we were forced back west where some family was living. Since that time, our living situation has gotten worse, despite repeated attempts at securing both lodging and employment.

California is far too expensive for us to live in, and as a result, we've remained homeless since March. We need help getting back east where we have friends, more family, and resources that we were forced to leave behind. We have a small dog as well; a 13 year-old toy poodle who I have had for his entire life. We are currently sleeping out of our four-door Kia Spectra and have no access to cleaning facilities. We're hungry and our food is nearly gone again. We have no savings to speak of, and our ability to save long term is non-existent. We have just two hundred dollars between the two of us.

We are seeking enough money for gas to travel back east, as well as enough left over from the journey for a single month's rent in an affordable apartment. We would ask for more, but it would require asking for at least $4000 - enough for us to find a living space and to be able to seek work for the duration that we have that shelter. It would not sit well with our consciences to ask for so much.

If met, our financial goal will be divided as such:
$300 for the trip home from California to the Northeast
$550 for the first month of rent and utilities

I am an IT professional, specializing in hardware, software, and networking. My girlfriend currently works retail. If we can both obtain employment at once, between the two of us, we can secure long-term housing and start saving up for our future. Every little bit counts, however. If you have just $5 to spare, that is far and above what we'd actually expect.

Thank you for listening and I hope you'll lend a hand in what's arguably the worst point in the both of our lives. Take care.

$160

 

19% Raised of $850 Goal

  • Jason Garshfield

    $10

  • Pen15 club

    $50

  • Maria Molpeceres

    $100

  •  
  •  
  •  
Organized by

Michael Evans

This is a direct to organizer fundraiser.

Donor Comments

Maria Molpeceres

Maria Molpeceres

DONATION: $100

Good luck . 4 years ago

Pen15 club

Pen15 club

DONATION: $50

Though times are tough, you must be tougher 4 years ago

Jason Garshfield

Jason Garshfield

DONATION: $10

I hope this little bit helps. If you need more, I could talk to my mom and see if she could find you some more work to go around our place. 4 years ago

Report this page — Let Us Know if you think this page is breaking the law or the CrowdRise Terms