Skip to content

Help me get home

Organized by: Dustin Clifford

Dustin's Photo

THE STORY:

I'm trying to get back home to my family in Ohio. I'm currently living in South Carolina. I have a son, he's 8. I've put off going back to Ohio because I want to be around for him. He lives here in South Carolina with his mother. She and I separated when he was 3. I completely understand that a father should take care of his kids. I love my son with everything I have and have had. I was forced to pay an amount for child support that was way beyond my means. $600 for one child. I worked a sales job at a gym and they went off of my check in January and February. These are the busiest times in a gym. They didn't even consider the type of job I had and that it was seasonal. I had a vehicle that I couldn't afford anymore because of the support so I sent it back. I was driving a friends car and was pulled for a seatbelt and I was made aware that my license were suspended for insurance cancellation on the vehicle I sent back 4 months prior. All the while, still owing child support, I didn't live close to public transportation, lost my job and other jobs because I couldn't get to work. Getting behind on support, in and out of jail because of it. I was fed up and made the decision to try drive to work a few times though. I was caught three times. I was stuck with either take a risk getting caught driving and go to jail or lose another job and go to jail for child support. I since went through other life changing experiences. While in and out of county jail, I had a girlfriend that cheated on me while I was serving 47 days for driving under suspension. We lived together and I didn't have anywhere to go so I stayed at a homeless shelter for 6 months to be close to my son. Saved up and got an apartment. I eventually got behind on rent and bills and child support because I lost another job by not being able to get there. I'm now trying to start a business locally doing various construction and cleaning jobs just to get by. Ive currently served 4 years and three months of my 5 year suspension. 9 months to go. I hate even think about leaving my son for those 9 months but If I go back to Ohio where my family lives, I have a great job waiting and a ride. I wouldn't have any bills either. I plan to save up for the 9 months and drive myself back down, get a place and a job. The fundraising is to get my things here put into storage, pay a few months ahead, and to get my ticket home. I shouldn't have driven yes but I wanted to at least try to keep supporting my son. My son and I have suffered tremendously because of this situation but God has showed me that we're survivors. I've never shown my stress and anxiety to my son no matter what. Every time I see him no matter how long it's been since I've seen him; we never miss a beat. I don't see him now as much because I can't go to pick him up. His mother occasionally brings him. It would be the best thing for him in the long run if I'm able to go back to Ohio, to work, and save. I will be back to visit before I move back though. His mother actually won't let him come to Ohio to visit, unfortunately but I'm sure once I'm stable that will change. Thanks in advance for any contributions!

DONATE

To This Fundraiser

$0

MONEY RAISED
  •  
  •  
  •  
Organized by

Dustin Clifford

This is a direct to organizer fundraiser.

Donor Comments

Be the first to Donate to Dustin and Help me get home .

Report this page — Let Us Know if you think this page is breaking the law or the CrowdRise Terms