Skip to content

Help Me Survive Detroit

Organized by: Taylor Smith

Taylor's Photo

THE STORY:

My name is Taylor Smith. (Twenty two years old)

I am currently an Enterprise Java Developer and an aspiring game developer/artist.

First off, let me say that both my and my significant other's families have turned away from supporting us. There is no real 'reason' behind their lack of support, other than "they are old enough to support themselves."

I'm from a small 'retirement community' in Mississippi, and I've been pursuing a career in software development for the past four years. In order to achieve this, I've devoted myself to countless hours of research, attended three years of college at University of Mississippi studying Computer Science, and recently I've sold all my possessions and moved away from home to work as a contracted software engineer in Detroit.

Last summer, I joined a 'bootcamp' program that provided development training and entry level job placement. During the two months that I spent in the program, I had no income and no opportunity to secure a job due to the mandatory 8:00-5:00 schedule. Post-graduation, I was placed with and sponsored by a company that provides income and a plan to advance my career over the next three years. However, thanks to crippling debt from trying to survive the American college system, I'm at risk of losing my career, my home, and my dream.

When I discovered the opportunity to pursue my dream, my significant other dropped all her priorities and followed me to Detroit. She also brought her daughter, whom will be five in November.
We cannot afford healthcare for either of them, and the state aid system will not allow us to have assistance due to my current 'net income.' (it doesn't include debt from mandatory repayments or taxes)

In order to travel, have a bed to sleep in, and a roof over our heads, I borrowed money against my vehicle title as well as money from my sponsor. (which was merely enough to secure a rental home and feed us)

In the two months that we've been here, we have been fortunate enough to meet a few wonderful people that were willing to support us by donating furniture or kitchenware, but these items do not pay the bills.

October 16th marks the second month that I haven't been able to repay my vehicle loan, and payments to my sponsor are not optional, as they are withdrawn during payroll.

I am also at constant risk for having my wages garnished entirely due to outstanding debt with several major companies.

Our family of three is currently surviving on minimum wage with hopes that by the time February arrives, we will be out of this vicious cycle of debt. I will have my first raise, my debt will be paid in full, and we can enjoy our new home in Detroit.

In the meantime, I am asking for your contribution to support not just me and my family on our journey, but the idea of making people's dreams actually come to life.

Current debt: $2,000 owed to save my vehicle, and roughly $5,000 outstanding miscellaneous debt

My goal is to save my vehicle and allow my family to survive until we can move forward from this transitional period of our lives.

All money donated will go toward erasing my current debt, ensuring we are fed, and saving my family from being evicted from our new home.

Thanks for your concern.

DONATE

To This Fundraiser

$0

MONEY RAISED
  •  
  •  
  •  
Organized by

Taylor Smith

This is a direct to organizer fundraiser.

Donor Comments

Be the first to Donate to Taylor and Help Me Survive Detroit.

Report this page — Let Us Know if you think this page is breaking the law or the CrowdRise Terms