Skip to content
katrinagumushian1's profile image - click for profile

Katrina Gumushian's Fundraiser:

Katrina Gumushian

Katrina's Photo
Katrina Gumushian


California State Polytechnic University- Pomona

Undeclared (Intended to major in Kinesiology and minor Business)


I had always known college was not going to be cheap, but I never expected for it to be such a financial burden on my family.  After applying to dozens of scholarships and not receiving enough to cover my tuition and fees, my family has no other choice than playing a dominant role in paying for my college education.  I do not want to put my parent’s into a financially difficult situation of sending me to college.  A few months ago, my father was let go from is job of over 13 years due to out of state relocation of the department he works with.  My father’s job provided a large amount of our family’s income and with him losing his job and me going to college, I am not sure how I am going to be able to pay my tuition and fees.  My mother has also been unemployed for the past couple months from a steady job she had for ten years.  With no steady income in my household, receiving financial assistance will help alleviate a great deal of the financial burden that college has put on my family and I and help me achieve my career goals to help those in need.

Working hard is what has helped me have the high academic status I have had throughout my high school years.  Whether it be receiving the “Scout of the Year Award”, being class secretary for a class of almost 500 students for four years, or getting the Girl Scout Gold Award, the highest award a Girl Scout can earn, these were all achievements which were received through my hard work. 

The health field has always intrigued me and is a field I have often envisioned myself in.  I would like to be able to pursue a career as either a physician’s assistant or a registered nurse.  I want to be able to aid those who are ill, injured, or going through a difficult time; I want to be able to comfort them through their times of pain and hardship.  When I was three years old, my brother was born as a premature baby; this was a difficult experience my family had gone through.  I recall the nurses and physicians comforting us while I watched tem enter my brother’s room treating him to health.  This experience is what makes me want to become either a physician’s assistant or a registered nurse.  I want to be able to make a difference in the world and inspire others to so the same.

In the fall I will be attending California State Polytechnic University.  I plan on majoring in Kinesiology with a minor in Business.  Wherever I am and whatever I am doing, I hope to help those in need and make a difference in peoples' lives for the better.


  • DeJon Joyner


  • Liza and Rick Browne



12% Raised of $2,500 Goal


Donor Comments

Liza and Rick Browne

Liza and Rick Browne


3 years ago

DeJon Joyner

DeJon Joyner


Good luck in college! 4 years ago