BENEFITING: TOMS RIVER SEAPORT SOCIETY INC
Founded in 1976 to preserve where possible and recreate when necessary, the unique history of those bygone days when schooners, catboats and special purpose small craft sailed New Jersey's coastal waters. The Maritime Museum is headquartered in the 1868 former carriage house for the Joseph Francis estate. This building was restored and is maintained by the Seaport Society. In 2002 a building housing the 1924 A-cat Spy was build. Now in our 40th year we would like to expand and improve our facilities. We would like to add a third shed which would increase our outdoor boat storage by 30%, add heating and air-conditioning to the Spy-building, upgrade our HVAC systems in the main museum and repaint all the old buildings. We are presently operating the Seaport Museum with all volunteers.